search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • The Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award 

    Current Winner

    Steve HollandSTEVEN M. HOLLAND , MD, an outstanding physician-scientist who has provided key insights into the genetics and pathogenesis of infectious diseases and primary immunodeficiencies, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2016 Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award. Named to honor the memory of a former IDSA president who was renowned for nurturing the careers of others, this award recognizes individuals who have served as exemplary mentors, and who have been exceptional in guiding the professional growth of infectious disease professionals.

    Dr. Holland is chief of the Immunopathogenesis Section in the Laboratory of Clinical Infectious Diseases, chief of the Infectious Diseases Program, and Director of the Division of Intramural Research, all in the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). He was until recently the deputy director for intramural clinical research of the NIH. A talented researcher and devoted clinician, he has been an exceptional mentor over the past 20 years to dozens of post-doctoral research fellows and clinical fellows, both in the clinic and the lab. They count his mentorship as a crucial factor in their own development as successful investigators and physician-scientists in important positions at institutions across the country and around the world. Many still turn to him for advice, years after leaving his lab, and draw on his example in their own mentorship of junior colleagues.

    Combining a clinical and molecular approach, Dr. Holland’s work has provided key insights into the diagnosis and understanding of infectious diseases, physiological host defenses, and inherited immune disorders. His major contributions to the field include the discovery of the genetic mutation leading to Job’s syndrome, a greater understanding of the pathogenesis of chronic granulomatous disease, and important advances clarifying the importance of the interferon-gamma/interleukin-12 axis in the pathogenesis of intracellular infections such as nontuberculous mycobacteria, Histoplasma and coccidioides. The bench-to-bedside model used in his research includes the close involvement of trainees, who are challenged to ask questions that both probe the mechanisms of defective immunity and therapeutic approaches to address them in patients.

    A fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Dr. Holland has published more than 400 peer-reviewed publications and edited several books. He has been invited to give more than 200 seminars and presentations at national and international meetings and at many institutions. He has served on the IDWeek Program Committee and as president of the International Immunocompromised Host Society and the Clinical Immunology Society. The recipient of numerous honors, Dr. Holland shared an NIH Director’s Award in 2006 for the discovery of an emerging pathogen, Granulibacter bethesdensis, and again in 2008 for the discovery of the cause of Job’s syndrome. He has been an NIH Distinguished Investigator since 2011.

    Dr. Holland earned his medical degree from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he also completed an internship, residency and chief residency in internal medicine, followed by an infectious diseases fellowship. He came to NIAID in 1989, and after two years of research training in the Laboratory of Molecular Microbiology, he led his own group and became a tenured clinical investigator in the Laboratory of Host Defenses in 2000, heading the Immunopathogenesis Unit. In 2004, he became chief of the newly formed Laboratory of Clinical Infectious Diseases, where he has remained since. In 2016 he became director of the division of intramural research for NIAID.

    For his ready willingness to provide valuable advice, assistance, and encouragement, which has enabled numerous trainees to develop into successful and independent physician-scientists, IDSA is delighted to recognize Dr. Holland with the 2016 Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award.

    Past Mentor Award Winners

    2015 David R. Snydman, MD, FIDSA
    2014 G. Ralph Corey, MD, FIDSA
    2013      Lucy Tompkins, MD, PhD
    2012 Robert A. Weinstein, MD, FIDSA
    2011 Jane E. Koehler, MA, MD and William Schaffner, MD, FIDSA
    2010 Jack S. Remington, MD, FACP, FRCP, FIDSA 
    2009 Richard L. Guerrant, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Gerald Medoff, MD, FIDSA
    2007 Stanley Falkow, PhD, FIDSA and Neal H. Steigbigel, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Kathryn Edwards, MD, FIDSA
    2005 Donald Kaye, MD
    2004 Gene H. Stollerman, MD
    2003 George H. McCracken, Jr., MD
    2002 Leon G. Smith, MD
    2001     Martin S. Hirsch, MD

| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2017 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site